What Will I Be When I Grow Up?

image

All of us have dreams of ‘What I will become when I grow’ when we were kids. I did not have any such dreams. Only when I entered my teens and completed my 10th standard, I decided that I wanted to become a Chartered Accountant (little did I know that this was a wrong decision). I was good in studies – Maths and Accountancy and concluded that CA was the best field for me. What other fields were available, anyway – Engineering (aarrgghhh), Arts (Pooh) and Medicine (Yuck)? I wish some angel had come that time and shown me in the crystal ball that Arts was the right field for me.

Anyway, with dreams of completing CA (and at the same time looking good and dressing up and designing my own clothes and getting myself photographed) and working in Australia in an office where I have a cabin of mine, I came to Bombay to study CA and work in my Uncle’s own firm. I failed miserably. Ok, I had the brains. I managed to clear quite a few exams but it just wasn’t working out for me. It was then I realized that my true inclination was arts / design. I got wild thoughts of trying my hand at fashion designing but my family totally objected to the idea and I got into a MBA college. A good one, that.

2 years passed and I knew nothing about Management or Human Resources in the end. All I earned in the 2 years were 2 best friends and a heart break. During this time, I danced and ramp-walked in college functions. I drew motifs in my private journal, mehendi on my own hand, painted and embroidered on fabric and experimented with clothes. I got kurtas made out of dupattas; I recycled my Aunt’s old clothes (since I didn’t have money to buy new stuff for myself). Credit goes to my Aunt for always encouraging me. Anyway, luck (if you may call it) shone on me and I ended up getting the highest paid job in HR on campus.

I then spent 4 years in Aurangabad being extremely excited and dedicated towards work. I realized in the 3rd year that I was not made for Corporate. I was (and still am) an artist by heart. I loved working by myself at any time I wanted and wanted to create beautiful pieces of art in the form of stories or pots or clothes. My first foreign tour happened during this time (to south East Asia) and I realized I wanted to travel the world. I started reading on different countries, what they wear and eat, the architecture they have there and the way the people look. When I travelled to Switzerland the next year, I was totally fascinated by foreign lands and was all the more driven to spend more and more time travelling.

I quit the hell-like life of Aurangabad and landed up in Surat. Here, my passions got shape. I developed a small garden in my balcony. I started showcasing my huge clothes, shoe and jewellery collection through my style blog. I developed love for old vintage rustic architecture. I learnt a bit of photography. And I started experimenting with cooking. Surprisingly, I am still in HR profession and manufacturing industry. But it doesn’t excite me. What excites me? Travel, photography. Food. Cooking. Fashion. Malls. Gardening. Craft. Handicraft fairs. Eating out with friends. Hindi movies. DIY projects.

Oh, I know why I am still stuck in Corporate. For money. And I am good enough to use it to earn a living.

But I see my life changing in future. I won’t be in HR for long. But what will I do? I don’t have one passion; I have 10 of them. Sometimes I want to be a travel guide. I would show people the palaces, forts and give interesting bits about the city. Or shall I focus on fashion? I have a great taste in fusion fashion; I can start this unique line on my own! And what about cooking? I am told that I put a magic touch to whatever I make because of my love for food and various flavours. I could focus full time on cooking and photography and have a dedicated blog on it. Is travel my forte? Writing about cities / towns / restaurants / fairs? Yes, I love travel, no doubt, and have been looking at places and people with an eccentric eye. I definitely love shooting and writing during travel. And don’t I need to hone my photography skills? Well, now at least I am sure of this; this I definitely need to learn. It goes with travel, cooking, fashion everything! This is how I can show my world to everyone!

I don’t know where life is going to take me. I don’t know what I will end up doing (Jack of all trades, Master of none?). But my life will change. Not anyone or anything but I can change my life. It takes guts to leave something as comfortable (9 to 5 job; no risk) and secure (continuous monthly income) as a corporate job. I don’t know when and how but my future will be different. I will no longer be working in a factory and wearing boring clothes. I hope exciting things are in for me in the future. But I just don’t know what I will be when I grow up!

image

2 thoughts on “What Will I Be When I Grow Up?

  1. Sometimes we get so confused where life is gonna take us.Dont worry..Years later you’ll stare at this post with a sigh of relief..”I am so much better than what I thot I wud be”…GOod luck

  2. I totally agree about living your dream…unfortunately, I think there are many people who can share your path…of sometimes caving in to the pressures of what is expected and go with the flow. It becomes a mundane 9 to 5 job if there is no passion. Passion is important…loving what you do is important…along with the money to live, of course! Good luck with it all! 🙂

Tell me your views..

